John R.

Wooden Award

The Los Angeles Athletes Club trophy

The John R. Wooden Award

The Player of the Year and All American Team members are selected each year by a hand-selected panel of voters. Voters are college basketball experts selected to collectively represent each of the 50 states.

The Awards' National Advisory Board seeds each National Ballot (men's and women's) with the top candidates for each award category. The National Advisory Board is charged with selecting those players who meet the Award criteria as established by the Award's founders. The Award criteria includes that the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 2.00 or higher throughout the candidate's college career. The players who are selected for the Final Ballot are announced prior to the NCAA Tournament and are listed on a ballot that is sent to nearly a 1,000 voters. Voting is opened to the national voting panel prior to the First Round of the NCAA Tournament.

Voters may vote via an online system that allows them to evaluate players up until just after the Third Round of the NCAA Tournament. The official accounting firm of the John R.Wooden Award, Deloitte, tabulates all votes.


Winners List

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award Trophy presented to "The Outstanding College Basketball Player in the United States," is given to the player who receives the most points in the annual balloting. A candidate's performance in the regular season, conference tournaments and postseason are taken into account by voters, as is the player's character.

  • Womens Winners
    Year Player School
    2020 Sabrina Ionescu Oregon
    2019 Sabrina Ionescu Oregon
    2018 A'ja Wilson South Carolina
    2017 Kelsey Plum Washington
    2016 Breanna Stewart Connecticut
    2015 Breanna Stewart Connecticut
    2014 Chiney Ogwumike Stanford
    2013 Brittney Griner Baylor
    2012 Brittney Griner Baylor
    2011 Maya Moore Connecticut
    2010 Tina Charles Connecticut
    2009 Maya Moore Connecticut
    2008 Candace Parker University of Tennessee
    2007 Candace Parker University of Tennessee
    2006 Seimone Augustus Louisiana State University
    2005 Seimone Augustus Louisiana State University
    2004 Alana Beard Duke University
  • Mens Winners
    Year Player School
    2020 Obi Toppin Dayton
    2019 Zion Williamson Duke
    2018 Jalen Brunson Villanova
    2017 Frank Mason III Kansas
    2016 Buddy Hield Oklahoma
    2015 Frank Kaminsky Wisconsin
    2014 Craig McDermott Creighton
    2013 Alfonso "Trey" Burke Michigan
    2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky
    2011 Jimmer Fredette Brigham Young
    2010 Evan Turner Ohio State
    2009 Blake Griffin Oklahoma
    2008 Tyler Hansbrough University of North Carolina
    2007 Kevin Durant University of Texas
    2006 J.J. Redick Duke University
    2005 Andrew Bogut University of Utah
    2004 Jameer Nelson Saint Joseph's University
    2003 T.J. Ford University of Texas
    2002 Jason Williams Duke University
    2001 Shane Battier Duke University
    2000 Kenyon Martin University of Cincinnati
    1999 Elton Brand Duke University
    1998 Antawn Jamison University of North Carolina
    1997 Tim Duncan Wake Forest University
    1996 Marcus Camby University of Massachusetts
    1995 Ed O'Bannon UCLA
    1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue University
    1993 Calbert Cheaney Indiana University
    1992 Christian Laettner Duke University
    1991 Larry Johnson UNLV
    1990 Lionel Simmons La Salle University
    1989 Sean Elliott University of Arizona
    1988 Danny Manning University of Kansas
    1987 David Robinson United States Naval Academy
    1986 Walter Berry St. John's University
    1985 Chris Mullin St. John's University
    1984 Michael Jordan University of North Carolina
    1983 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia
    1982 Ralph Sampson University of Virginia
    1981 Danny Ainge Brigham Young University
    1980 Darrell Griffith University of Louisville
    1979 Larry Bird Indiana State University
    1978 Phil Ford University of North Carolina
    1977 Marques Johnson UCLA